The 5 languages of love

When people get together, sometimes they find that they don’t speak the same emotional love language. A lot of problems arise when two people try hard to express their love to each other but it’s not understood. To determine your language, you need to ask yourself three questions:

  1. How do I express love to others?
  2. What do I complain about the most?
  3. What do I request most often?

In this blog and over the next two blogs, I am going to try and identify and explore the 5 languages of love, which are words of affirmation, quality time, gifts, acts of service and physical touch. Once you are able to determine your language and that of your partner, then you can truly express love to each other and connect in a sincere way.

  1. Words of affirmation

If this is your language, then compliments mean the world to you, hearing the words “I love you” are very important and insults can be shattering and not easily forgiven. Verbal compliments and words of appreciation are powerful communicators of love, it is important to use kind, tender and humble words to develop an intimate relationship and express genuine love.

IF you find that this is your partner’s love language, set a goal to give your partner a compliment once a day for a month.